News & Blogs
October 14 2017

MakatiMed hosts Parkway Hospitals Singapore Symposium on Liver Transplant

Makati Medical Center hosted a Liver Transplant Symposium headed by a team of doctors from Parkway Hospitals Singapore on October 14 at the Cancer Center.

Parkway Hospitals Singapore operates four hospitals in Singapore: Gleneagles Hospital, Mount Elizabeth Orchard, Mount Elizabeth Novena Hospital, and Parkway East Hospital. It also operates more than 35 patient assistance centers worldwide.

Stephen Chang, MD shared the protocol for donor assessment and how to select the appropriate donor for the optimal outcome of both the donor and patient. He also shed light on the current indications in offering liver transplant for various malignant tumors of the liver. Dr. Chang is a general surgeon practicing at Mount Elizabeth Hospital and Gleneagles Hospital and is a key developer of the laparoscopic approach to hepatobiliary and pancreatic surgery in the region. He is active in developing the living donor liver transplant (LDLT) program in Singapore. He is an Adjunct Associate Professor at the National University of Singapore (NUS) Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, and the founding president of the Hepatopancreatobiliary Association of Singapore.

Rinaldi Cosmas Lesmana, MD, a renowned Hepatologist from Cipto Mangunkusumo Hospital, University of Indonesia, shared the various medical indications which can be treated with a liver transplant, offering hope in acute liver failure, and improving survival in chronic liver insufficiency.

Finally, Jarrod Lee, MD, an internationally recognized endoscopist who routinely incorporates advanced imaging and therapeutics in general endoscopy, shared how to manage one of the most common complications in living donor liver transplant – biliary strictures and leaks. A biliary stricture is the abnormal narrowing of the common bile duct, the tube that moves bile from the liver to the small intestine.
The symposium was attended by MakatiMed doctors from various specialties. 

L-R: Adolfo Parayno, MD; Vincent Lai; Rico Estrella, MD; Angelo Lozada, MD; Eternity Labio, MD;
Arnel D. Diaz, MD (Chairman, Department of Surgery); Ma. Belen E. Tamayo, MD (Head, Section of Oncology);
Florencio Gerardo O. Caedo, Jr., MD (Director, Medical Services); Stephen Chang, MD; Jarrod Lee, MD; and
Rinaldi Cosmas Lesmana, MD